How to Beat The Monday Blues in 5 Ways

For me Mondays are rough. Well, let’s be honest, they’re rough for everyone; I’m no special case. And these Mondays after the holiday = ESPECIALLY difficult. So here’s how I try to deal.

1. Work it Out

IMG_3318

The first thing I HAVE to do Monday mornings is work out. Even if it’s only a short 15 minute cardio burst. I constantly remind myself that it’s only going to suck for those first 10 minutes while I try to pry myself out of bed and open my eyes. You know what all those fitness gurus say…”Never miss a Monday.” They’re right. It sets the mood for the whole week. So get off your sleepy butt and kick it in gear.

2. Hit up the Caffeine

I have got to get the brain tickin’ on a Monday, and for me, that’s going to be in a beautiful Starbuck’s cup. Although, being as broke as I am, I just discovered that Raley’s carries some Starbuck’s iced coffee drinks in jugs and they just so happen to have my go-to drink: Skinny Caramel Macchiato – for only $5.00! I buy one of those on Sunday and then drink it for the week. It tastes pretty much like the same thing as the actual Starbucks, but cheaper (yay for my wallet!). Anyhow, that caffeine really carries me through the day!

3. Turn up the Tunes

IMG_3119

I’m a little country girl when it comes to the music (more on that to come later). Sometimes in the morning while I’m putting on my makeup and ransacking my closet for an outfit I need a little bit more of a pep in my step, so I crank up the pop tunes. If it’s a slow one I skip it. I’m looking for something to dance to so I can make the morning routine more interesting. And there is nothing better than watching my god awful dance moves in the mirror.

4. Become a Worker Bee

Or at least pretend to be. It takes a few hours to get the work flow going again so fake it ’til you make it. Once I finally wake up and remember what it is I do on a daily basis the rest of the day flies by. Or at least skips a long quicker. Maybe?

5.ย Eat Ice Cream

When all else fails,ย eat some ice cream. It makes me happier and feel like a little happy fat kid. Lately at work we’ve had gallons of vanilla ice cream in the freezer and cases of root beer in the fridge = help yourself root beer float. It is delicious and definitely perks me up in the afternoon. And then what do you know…it’s 5:00 pm and…peace out – Monday over.

Any tips on how to overcome the Monday slump?

Good luck getting over your Monday blues! Look at the time…my Monday is over! Now Tuesdays are a different story…

Leave a Reply

