How to Look Like a Pro at Any Brew Fest in 10 Ways

This past weekend I went to my second brew fest. My first brew fest was, well, awesome, but a little crazy. So I didn’t hesitate to get tickets to another one! This one was in a small river town called Downieville. Another thing I want to be completely honest about…I love beer. I am no expert at all, I like what I like, and I just love beer. So brew fests are a new favorite for me.

image

The Downieville Mountain Brew Fest was a small town brew fest with about 20 breweries that showed for the event. I wore my favorite drinking shirt (which you’ll see in a minute) and it’s always entertaining to see the look of concentration on peoples faces as they try to read my shirt. Then the concentration turns into smiles and laughs and thumbs up. Anytime I can get a laugh out of someone is the best!

Anyway, here’s what I make sure I take with me and what I recommend for any successful brew fest experience!

1. Small backpack or fanny pack

A lot of breweries bring free things like koozies, bottle openers, stickers, etc., so I have to have somewhere to put all my goodies! I also have started collecting coasters, which they all bring, and one day when I feel crafty I’ll make something with my collection. Oh! And a backpack or fanny allow for a hands free experience so you can taste away!

My favorite small backpack, selfie stick, sunscreen, and brew fest swag.

My favorite small backpack, selfie stick, sunscreen, and brew fest swag.

2. Selfie Stick
I’m obsessed with my selfie stick, so I will continue to mention it, bear with me. It’s the best though because you can get the whole drinking team and their beers in the photo!

3. Sunscreen

Pretty self explanatory here.

4. Your favorite drinking shirt

I am a huge fan of funny shirts. It’s a weakness and problem all at once. I’m always looking for clever shirts. This weekend I wore my favorite:

image

5. Pace yourself

This truly is key. You do not want to be the one in the group that your friends have to drag you and shove you into a car, or the friend that becomes so dysfunctional that they have no choice to sit around and watch you be passed out. Pace yourself so you maintain a buzz, but don’t become a quick hot mess.

6. Make a new friend

There’s nothing better than being around people that share the same love you do. So strike up a conversation. Everyone is drinking as much as you are and unless you’re being an asshole, people will want to talk to you. And when you get bored you can just walk away and blame it on your buzz.

image

8. Be cautious of a dress or white shorts

A lot of brew fests happen in the summer. So it’s hot. You’re going to wind up wanting to sit somewhere at some point and there’s not always going to be seating. So you usually end up on the lawn, on the curb, somewhere not clean.

9. Water

Stay hydrated! It will make it possible for you to enjoy the brew fest longer! This time I got pretty tipsy in the first hour and I actually cut myself off for an hour and just drank water so I could make it to the end of the brew fest!

10. Take pictures

If you’re on a mission to drink I recommend this last thing. Have someone take a picture of you and your friends (or use your selfie-stick) when you get your first beer. Then get another picture of the end of the brew fest. The looks on your faces (more specifically, your drunk eyes) will be priceless.

image

For any of you that enjoy a nice cold beer, you definitely need to check these brew fests out!

Happy brew festing!

Leave a Reply

