How to Get My Spending Under Control in 7 Ways

August goals: Stop spending money. Stop being so careless with the credit cards. It’s gotten to the point that it actually hurts a little every time I swipe my card. Ever since I got my big girl job and left the bartending scene…I never have cash on me anymore. So now I am very conscious of every purchase I’m making as EVERYTHING is being documented now.

I’m going to New York this fall and Hawaii next summer. I have to cut back on the spending otherwise those vacations are going to be one big debt party. I do not do debt. I’ve been looking at my spending habits and now know what needs to be cut first.

1. Starbucks

Yes, it’s fun going to Starbucks in the morning and getting my little pick me up, but it’s not fun seeing your credit card bill and noticing you’ve spent nearly $30 a week there! Cut that shit out! I went to the grocery store and found a huge carton of Starbucks iced skinny caramel macchiato for $5! It lasts the whole week! Win.

2. Eating lunch out

I need to bring my lunch to work. Scrape together all the random pieces of food in the fridge into a meal and take it to work. I paid for that food so why pay for other food?! I am so wasteful. Eat your freaking groceries woman!

3. Alcohol

I used to be the friend that would show up with a 12 pack of beer or a couple of bottles of wine. All the time. I can’t do that anymore. I have to choose my moments. I cannot be our alcohol supplier every time we hang out! That shit’s expensive! Especially if you want to take it easy on the calories and got to go for the hard stuff.

4. Movies

Going to the movies always feels like the best option to kill some time and unwind, but it hurts my wallet! Movies are expensive. Like weirdly expensive. I need to just wait for it to come out on DVD. And plus, when I go to the movies, I have to get my popcorn, which is equally a rip off. But you’re paying for the experience I guess? This will not be an option for entertainment this month! Except for $6 Tuesdays. I could do that.

5. Online shopping

I love the ease of online shopping. It’s way too easy. I just kick back on my couch, put on some TV and surf the web. What am I looking for? Absolutely nothing. Funny T-shirts, wall decor, stuff for my kitchen, drinking accessories, work clothes, work out clothes, purses, AMAZON – just anything on amazon, make up, everything under the sun. Need vs. want? I don’t need to want any of that!

6. Going out

I love going out to eat. I hate to cook, and loooove to eat out. But if I’m going to do this then I need to order according to the price on the menu, not get a beverage, or if I do, make it just one beverage. No appetizers and no desserts. Just the meal. Unless it’s a special occasion, then I can make an exception, but this can’t be a weekly thing anymore.

7. Target

Visits to Target kill me every time. Every single time. Walk in for toothpaste and shampoo, walk out $100 later. I’m going to avoid Target like the plague this month! It will not bring me down with all of the adorable clothes, purses, home decor, picture frames, pillows….no. Not this time!

I need to start saving money and stop living in the negative. Get a grip! I can save money and still manage to have fun right? Well that’s this month’s goal, so wish me luck!

Happy saving!

9 thoughts on “How to Get My Spending Under Control in 7 Ways

  1. This was awesome and hilarious to read. LOVE IT. SOOOOO TRUE. You go girl!!! Keep me updated on your progress! 🙂 Life is so much more enjoyable when you are debt free.
    Get those K cups from walmart!!! I think there are like 45 or 48 cups in a pack and it is DELICIOUS. And I am super picky about coffee. seriously.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: How to Control My Spending: Update | How to Get Things Done in 10 Ways

Leave a Reply

