How to Realize That You Need a New Dentist in 8 Ways

Before I get into my awesome New York adventures, I haven’t quite had time to write everything down. But for now I want to talk about my dentist. I just recently took a trip to the dentist for my normal six month check up. I’ve been going to the same dentist since as long as I’ve had teeth. The same exact one. It’s a children’s dentist, because when I was little that’s who I needed to see. Now, I’m much older, and I even had to ask my dentist, at what age do I need to start looking for a new dentist? He tells me, “You can come here until you have your own kids if you want.” Great. That could be for the rest of my life. I’m just too lazy to do the research to find a new dentist. But every time I go back there, I start to feel a little bit too old for it. It’s kind of embarrassing, but yet funny at the same time!

1. When they have to lower the chair for an awkward long time because you’re so tall.

2. When there’s TVs in the ceilings but it’s always a Disney movie. Sometimes this can be exciting though, like when Despicable Me was on, and I had never seen it before.

3. When they ask you what flavor of toothpaste you want and then you ask what kinds they have. Blueberry, Bubblegum, Strawberry, Cookie Dough. Cookie Dough, really?? Kind of intriguing….but I’ll stick with mint. Thanks.

4. When they ask you if you want your fluoride painted on your teeth or to swish with. Painted on? Is this a real thing for adults?

5. When they ask if you want to pick out a prize out of the toy bin.

6. When the toothbrush they give you has printed on the handle: “Use me for two minutes twice a day”.

7. When the waiting room is full of toddlers and parents and you’re that awkward age where no one can tell if you’re a parent or a patient when you walk in.

8. When the other waiting room has arcade games and children’s books scattered everywhere. And my first thought is: Germs. Everywhere.

So yes, I think I might need to look for a new dentist soon. Although, I already have my next appointment scheduled in April, so maybe after that? What’s the rush, right?

14 thoughts on “How to Realize That You Need a New Dentist in 8 Ways

Leave a Reply

