How to Deal With Those Post Vacation Blues in 6 Ways

Colors seem dull. Food…it has no taste. Just kidding, it’s not that bad! But I’m sure you’ve all experienced these at least once after some vacation or another. It’s just not as fun getting back into reality. On vacation there’s no obligations, schedules, places to be at certain times, no work, you get to go wherever, do whatever.

But snap back to reality. Monday morning that alarm goes off at 6 am and it’s time to get your butt up and ready for work. Woo. Oh wait express my excitement. Woo. There we go. Anyway, it’s been about a couple of weeks now since the vacation ended and here’s how I’m dealing with my post vacation blues.

1. Slammed at work

So being gone from work for 6 days means there is a shit ton of paperwork that has piled up on my desk. And I can only catch up for that brief minute before I uncover the second pile, then the third, and then oops it’s 5 o’clock, time to go home. Show up the next day and repeat. I haven’t even had time to think about how much work sucks or how much Mondays suck or how far away Friday is because I have been so incredibly busy. But the time is flying!


2. Becoming an unpacking maniac

The second night home I emptied my entire suitcase, put away all my accessories, toiletries, hair products, everything. And then the laundry started – 4 loads of laundry, when I usually just do 1 a week. How did I get that many clothes from vacation?? Craziness. But putting everything back where it goes, jus warms my little OCD heart.

3. Starbucks!

I know, I know, I said I was cutting out the Starbucks so I could save a little money. But when I get home from vacation it’s not very exciting to jump back in to reality, so I treat myself to Starbucks the first week back to work. It’s a nice little pick-me-up in the morning. And it makes me feel super cool walking into work after a week with my Starbucks cup. Boom.

4. The diet is back on!

Nothing like getting home from vacation and stepping on that scale. Ouch. Feeling all those burgers, pastas, pizzas, nachos, beers. Yuck. Rather than focusing on the woes of being back home, I immediately start focusing on my diet. Time to get back to the clean eating, so the first thing I do is have one last meal out when I get home, and then I fill up my online shopping cart (because y’all know the laziness is real) with fruits, veggies, proteins, and wholesome goodness for the weeks meals!

5. Do I dare get exercising?

Okay, so along with the diet change, I always start working out again. It makes me feel a little better to come home from work and get that booty moving rather than plop it down on the couch. Yes, I really just said that. Of course I turn on Netflix and work out in front of the TV, but that’s way better than the last four months have been! Gotta start working on my next vacation bod!

  
   
6. Keep the fun alive

Coming home can be pretty depressing if I just end up sitting around on the couch again. I have to ease back into my rightful throne in front of the T.V.! We’ve been keeping busy by spending a weekend outdoors and shooting, going to see Elf the musical, hanging out with friends at the local brewery. Can’t make things too boring! Don’t want to cut off the fun cold turkey! Now what fun would that be?

           

Well that’s what I’ve been up to now that I’ve finally come down from that vacation high. Reality is just the best, isn’t it?

4 thoughts on “How to Deal With Those Post Vacation Blues in 6 Ways

  1. Getting back to work after vacation is definitely tough!! Sounds like you’ve found some super fun things to make it a little easier 🙂 Elf is one of my favorite Christmas movies, I had no clue it was made into a musical!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

