How to Pick Out the Perfect Bottle of Wine in 4 Ways

I want to start this post off by saying I am no wine connoisseur. I’m no wine-o. Not even a little bit. And this post will more than likely not help you one bit when you want to pick out a bottle of wine. But that doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy a glass or bottle of wine once in awhile. I know pretty much next to nothing when it comes to wine so I absolutely hate it when I have to pick out a bottle for dinner or bring a bottle to girls night or wherever it is that I’m going.

But I’m cheap. And hate to ask people that actually know a thing or two for help because I’m lazy. But here’s what I check out when I pick out a bottle of wine.

1. Color

Are we drinking red or white tonight? We’re having chicken for dinner? Yeah that still doesn’t help me, so again, red or white? To be honest, I don’t like drinking red wine when it’s warm out. That’s just not refreshing to me. Is that weird? I drink the color by the seasons…fall and winter is red wine, and spring and summer is white wine. ‘Nuff Said.

 2. Price

Like I said. I’m cheap. I cannot see spending more than $20 on a bottle of wine at the grocery store. Maybe in a restaurant (don’t ask me how that’s different). But I also don’t want to get the bottom shelf stuff. I’m trying to be slightly classy here. And plus who wants to stoop down to check out the bottles down low?


3. Label on the bottle

You know how they say not to judge a book by its cover? Well I totally judge a wine by its label. Probably, to be more specific, the font and typography on the label. I know, it’s dumb, but that’s how I am. Call me shallow if you want. But if it’s a good looking label, then I’ll give it a shot, er, a glass I mean! ๐Ÿ˜‰

 

4. Location

This one is my own silly thing. I don’t know anything about wine, but I lived in Italy for a few months, so I try to pretend that I pick out wine from Italy. In reality, I just pick up a bottle of wine, look at the label using steps 1, 2, and 3, and if it says Italy I always point it out to the boyfriend. “Oh, this one is made in Italy! We have to get it!” Like it freaking matters.

So let me hear it you wine-os, what’s really the right way to pick out a bottle of wine? I love learning about wine and what’s good and how to tell!

Happy hunting!

24 thoughts on “How to Pick Out the Perfect Bottle of Wine in 4 Ways

  1. Hey kiddo! Loving the posts! Buy what you like and drink it how you want! Life’s to short to sweat the small stuff!
    Keep up the ramblings of a twenty something! It makes this fifty something smile!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like Shiraz a lot, so when I buy a bottle, I tend to check out the alchohol content. I like it 14.5% or better for Shiraz and Red Zin. Deep and brooding! That bottle of chardonnay in your photo – Butter – is a decent white. California whites don’t show a lot of quality variance in that 15-25 price range, and I get that bottle at 15.99. Spanish wines currently have the best quality to price ration, if you like those varietals. Watch out for those labels! I got a bottle of 50 Shades, and it was a bad as the movie was. Caveat emptor. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hahaha so I actually AM a wine-o. Or at least I like to think I am! But this post is exactly what I do too! The best part is you just get to try a bunch of wines and pick what you like. I can’t justify spending a ton of money on a bottle… Special occasion maybe. That’s about it. But by buying less expensive bottles I’ve been able to try a ton of awesome wines. I liked your post though, definitely the way to do it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Fun tips ๐Ÿ™‚ Though where the wine comes from does matter. Never forget there’s people and places behind a bottle of wine. Vineyards in the country side and growers working hard to produce the grapes. It doesn’t just come out of a factory in CHina or somewhere ๐Ÿ˜‰ cheers, enjoyed reading this ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Myself and hubby enjoy a bottle (or two and sometimes three -eek!) Of red at the weekend -in fact I have a glass of Rioja in hand as we speak, or type. Luckily we live next door to a co-op and they always have deals on wine so we can usually get a fairly decent 2011 for ยฃ6.99 (about $10 or $11). we have the expensive stuff as a special treat on occasion and it is is delicious but with money too tight to mention at the moment the on offer variety hits the spot more than well enough!

    Like

  6. Omg haha this is perfect! I choose my bottles of wine in the EXACT same way, I was actually buying wine last night and chose it because of the price (nothing above 20$ for sure!!), but most importantly the label. If the label is boring, meh, not appealing to me haha! And for a while, I was buying Argentinian wine, because for some reason that was my country of choice, absolutely no other reason for me to be choosing the wine or that country, but hey the method works!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha yay! So glad to hear I’m not the only one! The prettier the label…the more intrigued I am! Last weekend the boyfriend had me buy a blend called the duck commander because it had ducks all over the label. Wasn’t too bad either! Lol

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Hahaha this is the best picking out wine list ever. I totally judge a bottle by its label and I will also never pay an arm and a leg for it- i’m much more of a beer gal myself.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Years ago my boyfriend (now my husband) used to share a house with a wine connoisseur who’d bring bottles of wine home from work for tasting. She had to take notes but after half a dozen bottles opened she could barely write! Her notes were like “smells like dirty socks”. We used to have a great time. Nowadays I choose my bottles by price, label, previous likes and sometimes asking the store owner! Thanks for an entertaining post Allison!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

