How to Spring Clean in Winter in 7 Ways

I’m a clean freak.

I love organizing stuff, and it really makes me weirdly happy. Like super weirdly happy. I know I already wrote about How to Purge Your Closet, but this project I had been waiting to take on, was such a much larger beast.

The boyfriend and I have not been home on a weekend in 6 weeks, and with the hustle and bustle of Christmas and New Years, we’ve accumulated a lot of stuff and have just shoved it in closets until we’re ready to tackle it. I also have my room and then a spare bedroom that has no furniture in it. It’s seriously just an empty room. I haven’t been able to afford any kind of furniture and figure, it’s not my room, so might as well just keep it empty! But my closet has overflowed to that empty closet, which has overflowed to all over that room. I call it the boyfriend’s room because we don’t have any storage for his stuff, so I just let him keep a few things in there. Well a few turned into a lot. And then it just kind of got away from me. I made it my 2016 goal to clean up that room and give him the closet. There is no reason for me to have TWO full closets!

img_0027

So I took an entire weekend and tackled this project that I had been itching to get to for a month or so. It felt so good! I took a couple of before pictures (brace yourself) and then I’ll go through the process!

1. Schedule a day for it

About 3 weeks ago I decided to dedicate a particular Saturday to this project. I was weirdly beyond excited for that day to come too. I even told Kaitlyn what I was doing, which turned into her helping me for half the day and then I helped her for the second half! We kicked some serious cleaning ass!

2. Pick an area to tackle

For me, this weekend was all about my closets. All of them. My closet, the spare closet, the coat closet, and the laundry closet. My main focus Saturday was my closet and the spare closet. The others were quick clean ups on Sunday.

3. Start small

We started by moving everything out of the closet and then going through it one by one. Do I really need this? Have I even touched this in the last year? What kind of event would need to come up where I would need this?

4. Make a donate pile

I think this is one of those universal cleaning rules. The “Keep” pile, the “Trash” pile, and the “Donate” pile. But it seriously works! And there is nothing I love better than getting rid of huge piles of stuff.

5. Treat Yo’ Self

We made breakfast burritos in the morning and then moved on to Taco Bell for lunch (I know, this totally contradicts last Monday’s post about my “Be Healthy Campaign“, but don’t judge me.) Then we finished the night off with some Mac n’ Cheese. Can’t beat that day!

6. Mimosas

We started off our morning with mimosas, and of course I failed to take a picture of them, but it was a nice little celebratory “let’s get cleaning” toast!

7. Occupy the boyfriend

 

I don’t know if any of you were wondering, but no, the boyfriend did not help with this. He is just as bad of a hoarder as I am, so I knew he’d be reluctant to get rid of things. Instead, we called over some friends and the boys played video games while the girls were able to purge to their hearts content!

And voila! The finished room! All of those bags will be donated this week and we were able to turn the room into a workout room! Complete with fan, weights, and a pull-up bar, and plenty of room for activities! πŸ˜‰

How do you guys tackle your cleaning projects? Do you love it or hate it?

Happy purging!

13 thoughts on “How to Spring Clean in Winter in 7 Ways

  1. Omg two closets would be the dream. Honestly, I would give him the regular closet and just convert your extra room into a giant walk in for your clothes 😍. But I understand I get overly excited about organization too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love to sort & organize..& these days I can’t take much clutter!! I always donate to Goodwill or some of my favorite animal shelter thrift stores. It feels great to be productive & help others at the same time!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah realistically I should probably do it twice a year. I also have this bad habit of if I put on a shirt and don’t like the way it looks or fits then I put it back in the closet knowing that I’ll never wear it again lol.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

