How to See Portland Like Me in 7 Ways

This post probably should be titled: “How to Turn Your Portland Vacation Into a Beercation.”

When the boyfriend and I vacation, it usually ends up turning into a beercation. We love beer and when we get a chance to try new beers…well that’s exciting and always a good time. We really came up with the beercation term when we took a trip to Portland, Oregon. There are 58 breweries in Portland and 84 in the Portland metro area! A dream come true. And plus, Portland is absolutely beautiful. I loved it! Don’t worry, we got to see the sights as well.

1. Visit at least one brewery (or five)

Just one. To say you did it. But really stop by as many as you’d like! There’s plenty if you’re looking to kill some time!

2. Multnomah Falls

This one had been on my list for a very long time. Ever since I saw a picture of it on Pinterest I wanted to go there. It was so awesome and so beautiful! Definitely a must see!

3. The Widmer Brewery Tour

Such a deal for this one! $5.00 for the tour and you get to keep the taster glass and then apply the $5.00 to the gift shop or restaurant. And they’ve got a lot of good beers and fantastic wings!

4. Salt and Straw

salt&straw

The weirdest flavors of ice cream ever! Like Thanksgiving Dinner and Olive Oil, but they’re all amazing!

5. All the small restaurants and bars

img_0324

I love going to all of those small local owned restaurants! We had amazing Thai food, Chinese, nachos, burgers, you name it!

6. Hike around

There is a ton of beautiful views to take in around Portland! We went on a hike to see some pretty amazing waterfalls.

7. The Waffle Window

img_0689

Basically you have two choices: savory or sweet? I went for savory…bacon, Brie cheese, and basil. Ah-mazing. The boyfriend went for sweet…mixed berries and vanilla ice cream. The wait was well worth it.

 

This was definitely one of my favorite trips. I would totally go back to Portland in a heartbeat! There’s just something about Rip City that I can’t get enough of….

Have you ever been to Portland? What are some of your must-sees?!

30 thoughts on “How to See Portland Like Me in 7 Ways

  1. Yesssss! My cousins live in Vancouver, WA, and we have been to Portland several times with them, although most of those times were just for shopping or something along those lines. We hiked Multnomah, too, and the funny thing is, before we hiked it, I had never heard of it! Now, everyone is hiking at “our falls” and I hear about it everywhere! πŸ˜‰ I probably just didn’t notice it before, since I hadn’t heard of it, so it didn’t stand out. 😜
    Some of my favorites (besides the falls) are the farmers market and their food truck parks. πŸ˜‹ I know food trucks are everywhere, and maybe it was just because I was in Portland when I first had food truck food, but I thought it was super fun. The really funny thing is, we used to go to Portland every year for a meet for a program we were involved in, but we never played tourist. I’ve only done that once with my cousins. πŸ˜„ I think it’s time to visit them again. And not just so we can go to Portland. πŸ˜‰ Although if we did end up there, I wouldn’t complain. 😜 Gorgeous waterfall pictures, BTW!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Heyy!! I live here lmao. It’s nice to see posts about my city here in this platform, kind of unheard of. Lol. πŸ™‚
    Definitely the beer, there’s so many good beers out there πŸ™‚
    And the falls… πŸ˜€ I’ve gone hiking up there all the way to the top! Worth the hike because the view is gorgeous! It doesn’t get old.
    And the waffle window! Delicious! I haven’t tasted such amazing waffles anywhere else yet πŸ™‚
    And it’s refreshing to see Voodoo Doughnuts out of this list because EVERYONE goes there lol.
    Awesome post though! Portland would love to have you back! πŸ™‚ the 100 cherry blossom trees in the waterfront are a beautiful sight in the beginning of spring. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh I’d love to see that! That’s cool that you live there! I loved it! And yeah we went to a different donut shop because my friends said Voodoo is over done lol. So awesome that I hit some good spots! Can’t wait to go back and finish the rest of the sights!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: February in Review | AyR Galaxy

Leave a Reply

