How to Know You’re From a Small Town in 7 Ways

I grew up in a small town. Not a terribly small town. I mean we got a McDonald’s when I was a kid and that was a huge deal, and then Starbucks eventually showed up, but there were no stoplights. It was a drinking town with a railroad problem ๐Ÿ˜‰

That small town feel though…I wouldn’t change it at all. I liked growing up that way. I felt privileged over other kids because everyone did know your name, and you knew everyone else’s.

Anyway, when you grow up in a small town there’s a few things you’ve noticed over the years. And even now, I’ve moved away, but only to a slightly larger town. It’s slightly larger in the sense that it has plenty of stop lights, a Target, In-n-Out, and 6 Starbucks!

1. Everything shuts down at 9:00 pm

You’re starting to get hungry and it’s 8:00 pm. You now have to decide where the closest place is so that you can get to it and get food before it shuts down. If you don’t make a decision before 8:30 pm, then I guess you’re going hungry.

2. You can’t make a run to Target without seeing at least 1 person (if not, 2) you know

And of course you’re seriously trying to make it a run to Target, so you throw on some sweats, throw the hair back, rock the no makeup, and oh great, you bump into the popular girl from high school and she still looks as fabulous as ever and you look as homely as ever. And all you want to say is, “Oh yeah? Well you should check out my Instagram!”

3. Going out for errands is more of an all day event

Everything is so spread out that in order to hit all the places you want, it really is more of an all day trip. It’s so hard to pop over to a couple places after work. You’ve got to really schedule and plan your drive out to hit everything you need to before heading home.

4. You have to wake up an hour earlier to take care of all the animals before school/work

This was everyday when I lived at home. Up early to feed the cats, the dogs, the chickens, goats, and cows. They gotta eat too!

5. As soon as you turn 15 1/2 years old you are already at the DMV for your permit

You have GOT to start driving ASAP. Because you really can’t get anywhere or do anything unless your parents drive you. And let’s face it, that can be a little inconvenient when you want to make last minute plans.

6. Going “out” is more like heading over to a friend’s house

It’s too far of a drive to go “out” on the town. And plus then you gotta figure out how to get home, which will either cost a fortune or take too damn long. So gathering at a friend’s place to get your drink on just makes more sense.

7. Pretty small population

I think the population is about 2,000 people in the whole town. My high school had just over 1,000 students when I graduated, which was the largest group of students the school had ever seen! My graduating class: 245 kids. Everybody knew everybody. And if you said you didn’t know someone, then you’re pretty much an ass.

img_1270

How about any of you? Any of you from a small town and know these struggles? What was it about your town that made you say, “Oh geez, I’m a small town person”?

24 thoughts on “How to Know You’re From a Small Town in 7 Ways

  1. Love this post! I am from a village, yes it is called a village ๐Ÿ˜ Population is 1,200 and main resteraunt is attached to the gas station lmao. I completely get this whole post, only wish we had a mcdonalds. The walmart trips were bi-weekly and it is the whole family pretty much hahah ! Only the shops close at 6 here it is brutal!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, I am! We have one redlight, one McDonald’s, a few local restaurant, no coffee places unless you want a mcfrappe from McDonald’s. ๐Ÿ™ˆ Walmart is the closest thing and it’s about 15-20 min drive. Oh but we do have about 40 churches in a 7 mile radius ๐Ÿ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I always wished I lived in a small town! I thought it would be so quaint and fun to know everybody and to have everyone know you. (More specifically, I wanted to live in a Southern small town, then it would be like a country song come to life! ๐Ÿ˜œ) I’ve always lived in the ‘burbs, and in a medium sized town, where most people just knuckle down and mind their own business (which is not necessarily a good thing, IMO – I’m not saying it’s bad; it has it’s place, too, but I’m not saying it’s a good thing either). My current city’s population is 25,000 and growing. I think I would prefer to live in one of the other extremes after spending all my life in the middle. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I loved reading this! My husband is from a small town. They do have a McDonalds, but definitely no Starbucks. There’s a population of 1800 and that’s the actual town. He grew up 5 miles outside of the town! He loved growing up in the country and I love hearing his stories about it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s same with me! I wasn’t even in the actual town. 5 Miles outside of it too. I think we got the Starbucks when I was in a high school and everyone went ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฑwith excitement lol. It’s mostly because we’re an exit off a major interstate so it’s like the last rest stop before heading up the mountain lol

      Like

  5. Your graduating class was much bigger than the gradating class last year at my high school! I had to play in the graduation (since I am part of the band) and there was only about 140 graduates. One of the people my mom works with told her that the graduating class of 140 was one of the biggest they have had in a while.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

