How to Decide to Study Abroad in 5 Ways

I’ve briefly mentioned my study abroad time and that I would get to telling you more about it. I’m going to break it up into a few different segments, but to start it off, I’m going to talk about the thought process and the decisions that led me to studying abroad. It really was one of the greatest experiences of my life and it was during those months that I felt myself blossom and really become the person I am today. I mean, I know that sounds lame, but seriously!

1. Pick a program

img_1988

There are a ton of different study abroad programs. Some for a few months, some for a year, some with a school, some with a foreign family, and even some on a cruise ship! You’ve got to check them all out and weigh the obvious factors: price, where the study abroad program will take you, and how comfortable you would be in any given program.

2. Location

img_1984

Where do you want to go? Where have you always wanted to go? What countries have intrigued you for most of your life? Go there! Italy was always on my list. It’s my heritage! I had to make sure that I saw it one day!

3. Price

img_1995

Obviously you’ve got to have a way to pay for a program. Are there student loans/grants/scholarships available? Or do you need to start saving? I started saving my money for the study abroad trip I would hopefully take one day…and it paid off! Literally. Get it? Paid off! Ha ha.

4. Why do you want to go

For me, it was about seeing something new, experiencing new things, meeting new people, and putting myself in a situation where I had to really figure out who the hell I wanted to be.

5. Why shouldn’t you go

Ask yourself that. “Why shouldn’t I go?” Write down your answers. If it looks like a list of bullshit, then it probably is. Stop making excuses! You will come back from your trip. You will resume life when you return. Everything will work itself out. But don’t give up on amazing opportunity because you started texting this guy, or because you just joined a gym that you might go to once a week. Stop making excuses!

 

Have you ever studied abroad? Where’d you go? What kind of program did you do? I’d love to hear about it! Damn, this is kind of making me want to do it again…

img_1985

10 thoughts on “How to Decide to Study Abroad in 5 Ways

    • Yeah I graduated in 6 years lol but so worth it!! You only get to be in college once! And there were actually a ton of students on my group that had just graduated with their degrees and they studied abroad for a “last” semester before they started looking at jobs.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

