How to Dash Through the Airport in 7 Ways

I’ve been doing some traveling for work the past couple of weeks and it has been…well…exhausting. It’s a whole new spectrum of knowledge, places, people, that I’ve been trying to keep up with. Most of the traveling has been driving, but I did have to fly to one location too. And I barely made it too! I had been so exhausted from all the driving the few days before, that I deliriously set my alarm the night before my flight for 2:45 am. (which would have been perfect to get to the airport by 4:00 am).

Except I missed that little note on my alarms app, and for whatever reason, chose to adjust an alarm that was set for Wednesdays only. My flight was on a Thursday. Luckily, the boyfriend’s alarm goes off at 4:00 am for his job, but I was like, why is his alarm going off before mine?! I FLEW out of bed – got dressed, brushed my teeth, shoved everything else in my bag all in 5 minutes. World record setting here!


Anyway, since I woke up when I was suppose to be at the airport, the morning was a wee bit chaotic. Here are my tips to make it happen!

1. Always pack everything the night before

Even if you think, “Oh I’ll just put in those last few items in my bag in the morning..” No. Don’t do that. What if you oversleep? You have got to be ready to grab and go! Having everything completely packed makes things so much easier! Okay, yes, leave the makeup out, but have it all bagged up and ready to go as soon as you finish!

2. Lay out your complete outfit the night before too

I hardcore struggle with getting dressed in the morning. What top? What bottom? What shoes? Jewelry? Ugh. The night before a flight though, I lay out the top, bottom, belt, sweater, shoes. Even underwear and bra. That way I don’t have to waste time looking for anything.

3. Skip the makeup

I had left my makeup out on the bathroom counter, so I could put it on and then shove in to my bag. I also put all my liquids in a Ziploc bag to get ready for security too. But with no time to spare? I shoved all of that into my bag and went plain jane to the airport. Ain’t nobody got time for that. Then I put it on in the bathroom once I finally got to the airport!

4. Park in the expensive parking

Normally, I’m a huge fan of saving money. It was way too early to bum a ride off of anyone, so I drove myself. But at this airport, the cheap parking has to be shuttled into the airport, which could take a while depending on when you show up. I went straight for the garage parking. Yes, $17 a day is not my fancy, but I had to be sure that I had all the control on how fast I got to the terminal.

5. Leave the laptop, take the iPad

I was going to bring my laptop to blog at night on my business trip, but I knew that was just one extra step during the security line. I took my iPad instead so I wouldn’t have to pull it out of my bag. Obviously this one may not be as easy for all of you. You have to weigh the want vs. the need here.

6. Wear slip on shoes

Don’t bother with laces! You’re trying to get through in a hurry, remember? Slip on shoes are the way to go. Slip on – run out of house. Slip off – get through security. Slip on – run to the gate!

7. Buy snack/breakfast and water at the airport

I usually grab an empty water bottle and take with me, so I can fill it after security. But this time, I knew I needed to just get there, which meant no time to make breakfast at home either. Once I finally got through the security check I checked out the Starbucks line. NO WAY. Everyone and their mother was in that line and I had about 10 minutes before boarding started. I hit up one of those convenience shops and got a water bottle and a fruit smoothie. Boom. Breakfast and hydration.

 

And I MADE IT! Barely. But I have never moved so fast in my entire life! I wish I could have filmed that first 5 minutes of getting ready and out of the house! How about you guys? You ever oversleep and miss your flight? Or barely? What are your tips for running through the airport?

4 thoughts on “How to Dash Through the Airport in 7 Ways

  1. Oh my goodness that stressed me out just reading it- I’m so glad you made it!!! I’ve definitely done something like that before. At least you remembered to brush your teeth before going out the door! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

