How to Reveal 1 Very Dirty Secret

I am most definitely a clean freak. I love cleaning and organizing things. But there are a few things that I just kind of skip over and choose not to acknowledge as something that needs cleaning. I had read a while ago that you need to clean your makeup brushes. But I mean, let’s get real, who has time to get their makeup brushes all wet and out of commission for a few hours while they dry?

Another thing about this story is that I don’t know a whole lot about makeup. I mean I get it, and I can put makeup on my face to the extent that people don’t give me weird looks when I go out in public, so I think I’m winning. But anything above and beyond confuses me and intimidates me and I just need to learn more about it! Don’t worry, that’s my next project.

Anyway, back to the story: I told Kaitlyn, at Me, Myself, and Everything Else, that I needed new makeup brushes and she asked why. “Well, I don’t know, I’ve had them for a couple of years and I just think it’s time. Plus the bristles are starting to stick together with makeup.”


Oops. She looked at me terrified and said, “When was the last time you washed them!?” Well, if I’m perfectly honest…never. In the 2 years I’ve had them I had never washed them. I liked it too because I could practically do a whole basic face of makeup without having to use any extra product. By just using my brushes!! I have now learned that this is not a trick to be proud of.

So we spent a good amount of time washing my poor brushes! And it was INSANE the amount of makeup that was still in them! Each brush took about 3 rounds of soaping and rinsing!


But NOW they are all pretty and I promise to not let them get that bad ever again.


Also, wow, that feels good to get off my chest. Thanks guys!

19 thoughts on “How to Reveal 1 Very Dirty Secret

  1. Haha I have to be honest I’m guilty of this too…don’t get me wrong I have washed them but I haven’t in a looooooong time!
    I applied blush this morning without putting my brush in the blush, I’d say that’s winning 😜

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OH MY GOD THOSE BRUSHES AND YOUR POOR FACE. I’m practically hyperventilating reading this post, hahaha. I am so glad you washed your brushes. YOUR LIFE IS ABOUT TO CHANGE. Okay, maybe I’m being dramatic but I CAN’T EVEN.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lol you’re not alone! I never knew about needing to brush them either before I got into makeup. Even now, there are time when I go like two weeks or more without washing them. Of course, if I’m not using makeup on the daily I can let it go. Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m so with you! I was like oh so that’s a thing now. Always tempted to just buy more, even though it actually looks easy to clean them. I’m glad someone else has admitted it haha. My brushes are quite new (well….under a year?) I hardly wear make up so I never really think about it, but told myself I will wash them from now on. I think I wrote it down on a to do list about 3 months ago…This week is the week!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

