How to Debate If You Should Get Bangs: Pros and Cons

Alright. I’ve gone back and forth literally every other hair cut with this. Do I get bangs? Do I just keep the hairstyle as is? I mean, WHAT should I do?!?! Every time I go in to see my stylist and I’m feeling ready for bangs, I tell him, and then he says, if you still want them next time, then we’ll do it. But let’s wait. And every time I’m like yeah, okay, you’re the professional. We’ll wait. Then about a week later, I’m like THANK GOD he talked me out of it! Then a week later, ugh I kinda wish I had bangs right now. Then next haircut comes around, and woohoo so glad I don’t have bangs!

img_8616
So here’s my Pros and Cons list:
Pros:
  • It’s a great look for fall.
  • It will make my messy bun look a little fancier.
  • I’ve discovered dry shampoo now, so sprucing them up a little in the morning will be a lot easier.
  • It will give that pop in my hair that I’ve started to get bored of.
  • It will grow back if I don’t like them.
  • I just need to get a drastic hair change out of my system before I cut the entire thing off.
Cons:
  • No more running out the door in a wet messy bun.
  • My hair grows extremely fast, so I’ll have to go back for trims a lot more often.
  • I will have to style my bangs everyday; regardless of where I’m going or what I’m doing.
  • How do bangs work when you workout? Do they just stick to your forehead?
  • It took so long for my bangs to grow out that I had like 7 years ago.
  • It’s just easier having all of my hair the same length.
So after all this back and forth I finally just decided to compromise with myself and I chopped off 4 inches instead of going for the bangs. I just needed a change, so I took off some length elsewhere!
What about you guys? How do you feel about bangs? Does anyone else have any internal struggles like this when it comes to hairstyles?
img_7092
16 thoughts on “How to Debate If You Should Get Bangs: Pros and Cons

  1. Wellll I have a cow lick right up front on the top of my head. So if I head bangs, which I have tried, they stand up and go in all different directions. I have to have my hair grown out and weighted out there. Soooo the decision is made for me :/ I’d like to have the option though!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yeah…although I can appreciate bangs on other people, I can’t get over the fact that I had bangs when I was like 10-14, and I’m still cringing at going back to that. Of course now, I’ll probably play with the idea. I do the vacillating a lot! I was thinking about getting some side bangs at one point, but ended up just getting a little more framing than usual. Hair is definitely one of those things that is harder to make decisions about, at least for me, since it’s stuck to you, even if it’s temporary.

    Like

  3. I use to have bangs and to this day, I wonder why I wanted them. Yes, I was young and naive when I wanted them but I regret having them now. Any time I look at a picture of me back with bangs all I want to do is cringe because I look terrible in them. Like you, my hair grows really fast so I had to get it cut at least every two months and it was a pain.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I haven’t had bangs since I was eight and ran into a door, had 13 stitches down my forehead, and my mom cut bangs into my hair to cover up my stitches!!! Haha but I’d like to see what they’d look like on me. I’m just too big of a baby to change my hair!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

