How to Fall in Love With At Home Workouts in 7 Ways

A couple of months ago the boyfriend and I joined a gym. We were doing so good too, going 3 to 4 days a week. Then we got sick and when we finallyyy got better it was time for the holidays and then a new year, and we finally got back to the gym last week. But I was just starting to get into a funk. I needed to really step it up in the exercise department!

I started doing at home workouts, which I use to do all the time back in the day. Then when the boyfriend gets home, we head to the gym! This way I can do my cardio exercises (which the boyfriend hates) and then at the gym we can do weight lifting together (which is what I really love). I got super excited to put together a workout room and now I’m all about those quick home workouts!

1. Putting together my workout room

img_9753

We all know how much I love to clean and organize, so cleaning a room up to make it a workout room was plenty of excitement for me! I pushed everything that was covering the floor to the walls so that I could maximize my floor space. Then I also lined up all of the weights so I would be able to grab what I needed, when I needed.

2. DVDs

I started up the 21 Day Fix DVDs again. I’ve done them a couple of times through but it’s been like 2 years since I’ve done them! And they are HARD. Damn. Don’t knock DVD workouts ’til you try it!

3. Wear whatever I want

I can literally wear whatever I want, which is amazing. I can leave on my tall fuzzy socks, I can wear an oversized T-shirt, or if I get too hot I can strip it down to the sports bra! Whatever goes! And workout hair – please – bring it on! The crazier, the better!

4. Relaxation is immediate

img_9790

As soon as I’m finished with the workout and cool down I just grab my water and walk into the next room and plop my booty down on the couch. Ahhhh. Relaxation. Time for a beer! Just kidding. Most days. 😉

5. Any time of the day

img_9757

I can workout first thing in the morning, in the middle of the day on the weekend, or right when I get home, or later in the evening! Whenever the mood strikes!

6. Isolation is sometimes key

img_9792

Sometimes I just have to lock myself in that new workout room to get it done. That way there’s no distractions and it’s just a solid Allison workout time. Otherwise I have a tendency to start doing other things and then I just fizzle out.

7. Shameless selfie time

I like to do challenge groups on Facebook and what not and that requires a lot of checking in and posting those sweaty selfies! And I hate trying to take my sweaty selfie at the gym while trying to not look like a douche. At home, I can just snap away!

 

So those are my reasons I’m loving about my home workouts currently. But I do love my time at the gym though because of all the weights and equipment. I can increase weight at any time because of the amount of weights available to me there! Anywho, I’d love to hear your thoughts! Home workouts or hit it at the gym?!

signature.png

10 thoughts on “How to Fall in Love With At Home Workouts in 7 Ways

  1. It is too hard for me to get to they gym. So when the weather is nice I try to be super active with the kids. And when I can’t I do workouts on amazon prime. THey have a ton so I don’t feel burnt out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

